The Resort Municipality of Whistler (RMOW) has announced a by-election will occur this fall to elect a Councillor to serve for the remainder of the 2014-2018 term. The by-election follows the recent passing of Councillor Andrée Janyk.

“Our community and our organization are still very much mourning the loss of Councillor Janyk” says Mayor Nancy Wilhelm-Morden. She says that moving forward is not an easy task but they are required to take the next step in the legislative process.

The tentative date for the by-election has been set as October 7th. Two additional advance voting days are also expected to be scheduled as well as a mail in ballot process. Nominations to run for the seat will be open 46 days prior to and close 36 days prior to the general voting day.

The RMOW says that Laurie-Anne Schimek has been appointed as the Chief Election Officer and Brooke Browning has been appointed as the Deputy Chief Election Officer for the by-election.

In order to be able to vote in the municipal election you must either live within the RMOW, or own property in the RMOW, but live elsewhere in the province. You must also be a Canadian citizen. If you own property in Whistler but live elsewhere in BC call 604-932-5535 or visit Municipal Hall to confirm if you are already on the Non-Resident Property Electors list.

For more information on elections in B.C. and to register to vote click here.


Filed under: By-Election, Resort Municipality of Whistler, RMOW, Whistler